North York Moors

North York Moors logo
Browse section

Local Access Forum

Walker on path at coastWalker on path at coast

The National Park Authority has established a Local Access Forum for the North York Moors National Park.

The Authority will take account of the Forum's views in reaching decisions, for example on the draft maps of access land, the imposition of bylaws, long term closure of land for public access, as well as on wider issues regarding public rights of way and access.

The primary purpose of the Forum is to provide an opportunity for representatives of users and landowners and other relevant bodies to advise the National Park Authority on the improvement of public access to land in the National Park for the purpose of open-air recreation and the enjoyment of the area. This should be done in ways that address social, economic and environmental interests, whilst encouraging and assisting access provision. The advice given by the Forum should be of particular local relevance.

The Local Access Forum has been developed to give a balanced representation of interests and consists of 6 members representing users of rights of way and access land, 6 members representing owners/occupiers of access land and land crossed by rights of way and 4 members representing other interests. A list of the the Members is available below. You can view the agendas for the Local Access Forum on the meetings and agendas section.

Terms of Reference

For further information about the Forum please contact us.

Members Representing Users of Rights of Way and Access Land/Recreation (6)

Member Appointment ends
Les Atkinson 24/10/2022
David Brewster 17/05/2022
Mike Conlon 15/01/2022
Alison Fuller 02/11/2022
Gerry Orchard 12/11/2024
Philip Thurlow 01/12/2024

Members Representing Owners and Occupiers of Land and Land Crossed by Rights of Way (4)

Member Appointment ends
Jade Colston 07/03/2023
Catriona Cook 01/04/2024
Catherine Cussons 28/11/2024
George Winn-Darley 04/11/2022

Members Representing Other Interests (4)

Member Appointment ends
Jade Colston 07/03/2023
Catriona Cook 01/04/2024
Catherine Cussons28/11/2024
George Winn-Darley04/11/2022

Local Authority Appointments (4)

Member Appointment ends
Dick Brew12/11/2024
Helen Gundry17/05/2025
Muriel Mitchell06/03/2025

Total Membership 17