North York Moors

North York Moors logo
Browse section

Our Members

Members at The Old Vicarage, HelmsleyMembers at The Old Vicarage, Helmsley

The Members of the Authority are not directly elected but are appointed by the local councils and the Secretary of State for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA).

Chair: Mr Jim Bailey

Deputy Chair: Mr M Bowes

North Yorkshire County Council Members

Mr D Jeffels 
Orchard Cottage, 19 Hall Garth Lane, West Ayton, Scarborough, YO13 9JA

Ms H Moorhouse
Easby Mill, Low Easby, Great Ayton, TS9 6JQ

Mr C Pearson
Hill House Farm, Lealholm, Whitby, YO21 2QS

Mr J Ritchie
2 Pinfold Close, Scarborough. YO12 6UZ 

Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council Members

Mr P Berry
6 Barlow Close, Guisborough, TS14 7LF 

Mr S Moody
24 Brecon Drive, Redcar, TS10 4EY 

Ryedale District Council Members

Mr J R Bailey (Chair)
Grange Farm, Spaunton, Appleton le Moors, York, YO62 6TR

Mrs J Frank
7 Kildare Garth, Kirkbymoorside, York, YO62 6LN

Scarborough Borough Council Members


Mr S Sharma
22 Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough, YO12 6AB 

Hambleton District Council Members

Mr D Hugill
Turtle Hill Farm, Faceby, Middlesbrough, TS9 7BZ

Secretary of State Appointed Members

Vine House, Main Street, Great Ouseburn, York. YO26 9RQ

Mr P James
Sleightholmedale Lodge, Fadmoor, Kirkbymoorside, York, YO62 7JG

Ms Sarah Oswald
26 Winthropp Close, Malton, YO17 7FL

Abida Nayyar
110 Westbourne Road, Middlesbrough, TS5 5BQ

Ms C Robertson
7 Northfield Terrace, Dringhouses, York. YO24 2HT 

Secretary of State Appointed Parish Members

Mr M Bowes
Raisdale Mill House, Chop Gate, Stokesley, TS9 7JS

Mrs E Dent
Craven Garth, Rosedale East, Nr Pickering, YO18 8RH 

Mr B Marley
Annan, 41 Scalby Road, Burniston, Scarborough, YO13 0HN

Mr C Williamson
5 Sandsend Cottages, Egton Bridge, North Yorkshire, YO21 1XB

Full list of Committee Membership 2021-2022