North York Moors

North York Moors logo
Browse section

Bainbridge, January 24, 2017.

The Yorkshire Dales National Park Authority has two new members.

John Fort has been appointed to the Authority by North Yorkshire County Council, replacing the long-serving member, Shelagh Marshall, who stood down towards the end of last year.

Mr Fort was born in Lancashire but has lived at Dacre since 1971 when he was posted to Pateley Bridge as a member of West Yorkshire Police. During his time in the Police service, he was awarded the British Empire Medal for Services to Police Charities, retiring in 1993.

In 1997, Mr Fort was elected as a County Councillor for Pateley Bridge Division. He has been an Executive Member for Business and Environment Services, Social Services and has also held the position of Chairman of the County Council.

He is Chairman of Dacre Parish Council, an Executive Member of Nidderdale AONB, a lifelong member of Nidderdale Agricultural Society and a member of the County Outdoor Education Service.

The second new Member is Allen Kirkbride who is the Secretary of State (Parish) appointee for the Richmonshire parishes. He also replaces a long-serving Member, Harold Brown.

Mr Kirkbride has always lived and farmed in Askrigg, Wensleydale, having been educated at Wensleydale School.

He is Chairman of Askrigg Parish Council and a member of Yorebridge Educational Foundation and is a trustee of Askrigg Foundation and the Cumbria and Yorkshire Dales Farmers Network. He is also Vice-Chairman of Hawes Farmers Auction Mart and a Director of the Upper Wensleydale Community Partnership and Yorebridge Sports & Leisure.