North York Moors

North York Moors logo
Browse section

Design Awards

Design Award Winning Properties 2016Design Award Winning Properties 2016

The North York Moors Design Awards recognise, celebrate and promote high standards of design within the National Park and raise awareness of the positive contribution that it can make to the quality of the built environment and its landscape setting.

The Awards Scheme is an opportunity for the Authority to reward developments where extra thought and care has been taken which makes a significant difference to the finished product and sets a high standard for future development.

Nominations for the 2018 awards are now invited in the following categories.

Award Categories

A. Best New Dwelling

For the best new residential dwelling.

B. Best Extension to an Existing Dwelling

For the best extension (or alteration) to an existing dwelling.

C. Best Conversion

This could include conversion schemes for dwellings, annexes or holiday accommodation.

D. Best Non-Residential Development

This award is for schemes involving non-residential development such as retail, commercial, agricultural or industrial premises – including conversions and new build.

E. Best Conservation Project

For works to a Heritage Asset.

F. Best Landscaping Project

This award is for landscaping works associated with any development.

Judging Criteria

For each of these categories, the project will be assessed against the following criteria:

  • The design quality of the scheme in terms of its overall vision, innovation, integrity and detail.
  • The form of the development (including scale, massing and height).
  • Appearance (in terms of detailing and materials).
  • Minimisation of energy loss/energy demand, use of renewable energy technology and the sustainable use of materials.
  • The use of soft and hard landscaping.
  • Contribution to local distinctiveness and landscape setting.
  • Quality of craftsmanship and execution.

In all cases, projects will need to reflect the general principles of good design which are set out in the North York Moors National Park Authority’s Design Guide. You can download it or buy a copy from the National Park offices in Helmsley.

Presentation of Awards

Judging is expected to take place during September and awards will be presented to the winners of each category at a special ceremony immediately following the October meeting of the Authority’s Planning Committee. Certificates will be presented to the owner, designer and builder of the winning development/scheme of each category. Each category winner will receive a framed certificate and a prize donated by The Sutcliffe Gallery in Whitby

Who can make a nomination?

Entries can be submitted by anyone who considers the scheme suitable for an award including owners, architects, designers, developers, parish councils, amenity societies or any member of the public. In all cases the consent of the owner must be obtained prior to making a formal nomination.

To submit a nomination for the award please fill in the online application form (below) and submit the necessary information to by Monday 6 August 2018. Please refer to the guidelines in the link below.Useful links and downloads

Award guidelines

Online Application Form

North York Moors National Park Authority's Design Guide

Contact: Briony Fox

Tel: 01439 772700