North York Moors

North York Moors logo
Browse section

Design Awards 2014

In 2014 we had 12 entries and the judges were very impressed by the quality of these which were submitted from across the whole of the National Park. 

The Awards were developed in 2010 to recognise and celebrate recent developments that add to the richness of the North York Moors’ built heritage. 

This year the judges were:

Janet Frank (Chair of the National Park Authority's Planning Committee)

Tom Chadwick (Chairman of the North Yorkshire Moors Association) and 

Charlotte Harrison (Architect representing Intergreat Plus)

In selecting the winning entries the judging panel considered a number of design issues including 

  • the quality of detail and innovation, 
  • the materials used and 
  • the execution of workmanship of each scheme.

The Authority would like to thank all those who submitted entries to the scheme and look forward to receiving more high quality applications as part of the 2016 Design Awards.

Design advice and information for those wanting to build or alter buildings in the North York Moors National Park can be found in the Authority’s Design Guide. 

For further information on the Design Awards or to recommend proposals to be kept in mind for the 2016 Awards please contact the Planning Team at the North York Moors National Park Authority.

Design Awards 2014 - Winners Details

A. Winner of category for Best New Dwelling

1- 11 Westfields, Osmotherley

B. Winner of category for Best Extension

C. Winner of category for Best Conversion

Dale View Barn, Crag House Farm, Danby Head

C. Very Highly Commended in category for Best Conversion

Glen View, Runswick Bay

D. Winner of category for Best Non-Residential Development

Winner of a Special Judging Panel Award