Bay Museum & Archive

About Bay Museum & Archive

This small museum in the heart of the village houses fascinating collections and displays of local interest. Run entirely by volunteers this is a 'must see' while in Bay! The museum has only three rooms but a lot of local interest is crammed into this small space.

The old Coroner's Room, converted from an old cottage by the Rev. Cooper in 1891, has displays about fishing and shipping in Bay including details of some of the many shipwrecks and rescues that have occurred here. Artefacts include items from the last lifeboat to be stationed in Bay and several models of some of the sailing ships associated with the village.

Bay Museum exhibits

Smuggling was once a flourishing activity in Bay. Read about who was involved (it may surprise you!) what was smuggled (that may be a surprise as well!) and see what contraband you can discover hidden about the person of the old fisherwife!

Upstairs there are displays about the local Friendly Societies, including our prize possessions, the original banner of the Robin Hood and Little John Friendly Society and an original Robin Hood’s Bay Halfpenny! 1000 years of Fylingdales history is described with the aid of a series of old maps, and a new display of ‘Ships in Bottles’ made locally.

In the old mortuary are artefacts depicting life in and around the village over the centuries, 'from the cradle to the grave'.

Entry is FREE.

Visit Bay Museum & Archive


Accessible parking

There are two accessible parking spaces, 25 metres from entrance. Booking advisable.

For full details and facilities please visit Bay Museum & Archive's website


Getting here

Contact us

Bay Museum & Archive, Fisherhead, Robin Hood's Bay, Whitby YO22 4TQ
Tel 01947 880260
Email Bay Museum & Archive


Robin Hood's Bay and Fylingdales Museum is situated in the old Coroner's Room and Mortuary.

Public transport

Regular half service by Arriva in season only as far as the top of the village.

back to top